I Think Ed Hardy is Losing Steam.

I posted a while back that I thought the Ed Hardy thing has to go. One day into Obama’s America, I am pretty sure the snow is melting and the avalanche is coming.

looks like a box of crayons puked on a billboard.

looks like a box of crayons puked on a billboard.

One nice bellwether is the current outdoor advertising. I am seeing less of the fake-baked clique of people wearing circus clothes and more of these generic signs. For me, that’s just because they are squeezing as much out of the brand as possible. Recently, I saw these billboards all over San Bernardino. That’s pretty much when you know. Getting hot in San Berdoo is the slow boat to Hades.

Don’t you find it obvious that trends like this, especially Ed Hardy, are going to be the trends that look lame as hell to us in twenty years? I can totally see my kids going to 2000’s themed parties and saying “we need to get like Ed Hardy tattoo shirts and trucker hats” the same way we prep for 80’s themed parties by saying “we need like spandex, frizzy hair and scrunchies.”

Let’s take a peak at some 70s bad fashion and Ed Hardy threads back to back. Squint your eyes and imagine the future. You will get my point:

so flossy.

so flossy.

this image was called spacehooker when i found it.  yes!

this image was called spacehooker when i found it. yes!

mmmm.

mmmm.

yes!

yes!

Basically, I am pretty sure for Ed Hardy to be cool we need to wait 30-35 years and wear it to a themed party. In that respect, I am thankful Christian Audigier is making clothing. Otherwise our kids would say, “our parents clothing made sense. It sucks for theme parties.”

Actually, did any of you see the Mike Judge flick Idiocracy? With Luke Wilson about the future. Basically, a very average guy gets frozen by the government and is left in cryogenic prison for hundreds of years. When he awakes, he is in a world gone stupid where he is, in fact, the smartest dude on a planet of morons.

Here is how people dress in this apocalyptic vision of a mentally challenged future:

ed hardy, fall 2714 line.

ed hardy, fall 2714 line.

I rest my case.

2 Comments

Filed under Not Sure Yet, Rants and Musings

2 responses to “I Think Ed Hardy is Losing Steam.

  1. Michelle Stone

    I liked his Smet line when it first came out but whoever makes their shit (i’m not saying that like in an ebonics way, it really is shit) doesn’t know how to minimise. It’s like they’re having a contest of how many skulls and tigers they can fit on a garment.

  2. Parker

    you got that right🙂

Leave a Reply

