My Review of The Hunger Games

SPOILER ALERT.  Sorry I don’t give a shit.  I’m not here to protect your eyeballs.  Stop reading now if you haven’t read the book or seen the film.  I am going to speak openly and if you send me a comment about “spoiling it” I am going to review that comment like it’s football season.

I don’t normally review movies (except that time I reviewed the classic 90s rollerblade film “Airborne” and classic 90s beach volleyball movie “Sideout”).  That’s because I am a film grad.  I went to USC film school and for years I became so critical of films that I didn’t enjoy watching them, no one felt comfortable liking a movie around me in fear I’d tell them they were wrong and so forth.  In an effort to not ruin everything I liked about film, I got back to my roots and learned to love dumb movies with holes in them.  I’m the bearfighter now.  I answer to no one.  I think Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist is awesome.  I thought Scott Pilgrim was hilarious.  I don’t particularly love Michael Cera, either.  One can’t live of Shawshank Redemption alone (although when AMC has nothing to put on, they sure make you try).

That’s why before I start this, I liked the Hunger Games movie.  I liked it like girls like that really nice guy who bought them dinner, held the door open for them and was too nervous to kiss them.  Then they went home and drunk dialed a total asshole (or a guy who at least has some edge *cough cough, Draper*) which in this case, meant going home and watching Lord of the Rings.

I read somewhere the budget of this film was like 84 million dollars and while it’s distasteful to call that low budget, I’m calling it low budget.  This movie felt about as epic as a walk-off home run in your company softball league.

I read the books.  My wife read them and told me it was about the future and a mostly-hot girl who is hell with a bow and arrow and she gets stuck in a battle where she’s forced to kill 23 other kids while starving to death and hallucinating.  I stopped reading books for the most part when I graduated college because I was a compulsive reader of the classics and at a certain point, you just burn out, can quote Fitzgerald to Chaucer and say, I’m out.  Let’s watch Selling New York and maybe eat candy in bed hungover.  I’m checking out, thanks for the memories Old Man and the Sea.  Sorry about that shark.  That shit sucked.

Reading the books is the worst thing you can do in preparation for the Hunger Games.  It’s the Hunger Games equivalent of not hydrating before you hit the arena.  If you read the book, you will know how much they left out of the film, couldn’t find a way around or just said fuck it let’s get paid.

Like I said, I liked this.  I could have loved it and I am pretty sure if you were on the fence, it’s time to get real about things with the Bearfighter because I’m here to help.  Let’s get specific.

The first act of the film was unwatchable.  The shaky cam shit was so brutal (especially in IMAX because I go big or go home) that I thought I was going to have a seizure, which is only cool at Hollywood parties.  The former film student in me knows this was to make you feel the tension and claustrophobia of being lassoed into a death match as a pre-teen, but I paid good money to see this film.  It’d help if we could see it.  I mean, I know Jennifer Laurence is a good actress, she carried the film, but I need to see more of her face and less of an extreme eyeball close up shaking more than Northridge in the 90s to know what the fuck is going on.

Kudos to Elizabeth Banks for nailing Effie.  She showed up for work everyday.  People actually laughed at some of the shit she said which was great because her character made it onto the screen.  There’s no excuse for this not being more widespread, the author helped write the film and the cast had good actors.  So, good work Elizabeth Banks.  In this and in 40 Year Old Virgin.

The film was too damn short.  Most of the time, people see a 2 plus hour film and think that’s going to cover it.  Only this was a book told in the first person.  We needed more scenes to mimic the insights we got in the book.  Like, they barely touched on why Katniss’ father’s death made her mother a worthless sack of shit.  They barely touched on her Peeta relationship.  By the time they finish the series, at this rate, the Peeta/Gale thing is going to be more watered down than a drink at a hotel.

Remember in the book the psychology of the electric fence in 12?  It was never on, but she always like listened to make sure.  Remember how hunting was hard?  Remember how everyone was basically starving all the time?  They are in the forest for 3 seconds, they are all well fed, Gale even had Tiger Beat magazine hair.  Food was such a big deal in the book from hunting, to putting your name in the bag more for grain, to eating crazy shit in the Capitol to starving to death eight times in the arena.

They glossed over all of it.  Which brings me to my next point.

This movie needed to be a hard R.  I know why they didn’t.  Hell, I’d have done the same thing if I were them and their 150+ opening weekend shows it worked.  But things were hardcore in the damn book.  People were getting gutted.  People were starving.  The games were epic.

This didn’t feel epic.  It felt like 10 seconds of fast-cutting carnage to open the games, some random dicking around in the forest and then some weird cheap CG dogs (that were not anything like the “muttations with Victor faces in the books).  I mean when Cato (who was awesome and a USC student) was getting chewed up, it looked like he was being eaten by Disney’s Snow Buddies.  I mean in the book Rue was a fucking rabid dog chewing Cato (who is an awesome Trojan warrior) like he was a dog toy.  It dragged out all night, but here, Katniss just blasts him.

By the same token, when Katniss climbs the tree and everyone tries to shoot her, it’s like “damn, it’s impossible, let’s wait”.  Seriously?  The is THE HUNGER GAMES.  You telling me you can’t kill a girl in a tree?  In the book, it made sense why, she could climb way, way high, to the point it was crazy.  But the movie was on the cheap and that didn’t visually read.  It just looked like they were lazy.

Lionsgate make some cheap movies.  That said, they had to know this was going big.  Could have been a little over 3 hours and double the budget and they’d have made money.  It needed it.  It needed more immersion.

They scrapped the whole rooftop.  They didn’t cover the Avoxes.  The parade was like Star Wars Episode I bad.  I thought Jar Jar Binx was going to show up and play a banjo.  They didn’t show the awesome shower Katniss used in the Capitol.  In a film called The Hunger Games, they barely showed any food.  Haymitch was only drunk for five minutes.  In the book he was so hammered you never knew what team he played for.  He drank white liquor and started the revolution.  In this he was a fucking cheerleader.  I read “sweetheart” as condescending in the book.  It was endearing in the film.  Their suite looked like it was decorated by Z Gallerie.  Where was her prep team?  I know they had 2 minutes, but they kind of are a big deal in the books.

one does not simply act drunk in a pg-13 film

Even at the end, when Cato is saying some crazy trippy shit and I was going “nice, here’s gonna be the haymaker”, they just throw him to a quick death.  If they took liberties with the source material to explain tracker jackers and such, why not create some scenes showing how Cato was a death bringing, how hard killing him was.  I don’t know.

In the end, I liked the film.  It was fun.  I liked seeing the sets and the interpretation, but it just didn’t feel epic.  Harry Potter films seemed epic.  Lord of the Rings were so epic that it seemed normal people showed up at the theater dressed like hobbits.  Sort of normal at least.  When I saw this, people cheered when Thresh (who barely existed in the film) killed Clove.  I was like, really?  I mean, I was glad like most humans were, but contrast that with how people reacted when Will Smith punched the alien in the face and said “welcome to earth” or even when the goofy ass dog dives out of the way of the fireball in Independence Day and you feel like, man, we’ve lowered our bar.

Those freak out moments are amazing when you see a big movie opening night.  This movie just didn’t deserve that.  It was a cool adaptation on an epic book.  Not an epic adaptation.  The most epic thing was Wes Bentley’s beard.  Can’t wait to do that for Halloween.

The Bearfighter is just bummed because critics have largely let this film off the hook, and in my mind, it’s because newspapers are failing and this is going to be a big part of their lives for 3 more films (yes 3, not 2).  If you shit on Hunger Games now, you miss out on years of coverage that will attempt to keep newspapers in business (like the new pay portal on LA Times?  thought so).  They shouldn’t have pulled so many punches.  It was “good” like mid-priced bourbon.  It wasn’t a mind-blower, which the book clearly was.

I just think audiences deserve the product to live up to the hype.  The most epic part of the Hunger Games was the trailer for Prometheus before the movie.  By the same token they are going to spend ridiculous amounts of money to make another bad Spiderman flick like a couple years after we thought we were done with Spiderman flicks that had Tobey Maguire dance numbers.  Couldn’t Hunger Games, based on some really entertaining and epic novels, have been given the same big budget treatment?

Nope.

Cue the hate mail, but bear in mind, as a rabid media consumer, I will probably be there opening night for Catching Fire.  In doing so I am part of the problem.  JUST A STATISTIC, YO.  Kudos to the marketing team for hitting a home run.  Prometheus can’t come any sooner.

CLICK HERE TO JOIN ME ON FACEBOOK
FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER BECAUSE I TWEET PROFESSIONALLY

65 Comments

Filed under Rants and Musings

65 responses to “My Review of The Hunger Games

  1. Ramiro Camacho

    Spot on review!

  2. Ruth

    Solid review bearfighter.

  3. drlaguna

    Go read the watch “Battle Royale.” The Hunger Games is a complete lift of that book and movie, ran through a teenie bopper filter,

  4. Once again, you seriously captured every single thing I thought. I liked the movie but I had the exact same misgivings you did, from the bad shaky cam to the things they left out to the lack of epicness. I know they can’t include everything from the book (especially with the book being first person and deciding not to burden the movie with some hokey narration) but they definitely undercut the emotion of the story and the qualities that make Katniss an interesting character.

    Kudos, as always, for hitting the nail directly on the head and into the skull of the nearest bear.

    • Jake

      you know i disagree on the whole first person thing because twilight did first person act perfectly with bella

      • Dem

        Twilight is just bloody awful.

      • Isabella

        R u gay??? I thought girls only read that shit!!!!! & I’m a girl and i don’t read that shit!!!!

      • Ian

        @ Isabella – you imply that being gay is a horrible thing. Well, then you are a rude and close-minded person. Love stories are great, right? Then why can’t gay people have a happy ending too? Twilight is an excelent book and I agree with Jake. Granted, Meyer could have changed a few things, but what I don’t understand is the surge of haters. Haters gonna hate, it seems. Now don’t go and attack me, because this comment wasn’t ment to be innflammatory, I am simply stating my opinion.

  5. Agree on all counts…. I almost had a seizure and DID get pretty darn dizzy, was pretty disappointed at the self inflection and doubt that Katniss had while in the arena (this somehow made the senseless killing more ok than it was in the book), and was a bit appalled that kids killing kids is somehow PG-13….

  6. Cynthia

    I mostly agree with you bearfighter (as per usual). I liked the movie and can forgive some of the things left out but I felt like the movie was missing something and your article made me realize what it was. The “epicness factor.” They should have spent more money on it and not given a shit about running time, I don’t know why they thought this wouldn’t be a huge blockbuster. Also, I really liked that Seneca Crane and President Snow had bigger roles in the movie, I thought they were really good additions.

  7. Diana

    Yeah, a longer R rated version would have been great. It didn’t need to be Battle Royale gory, but there needed to be more violence to get the point of the novels. The “muttations” were the biggest disappointment for me. Because they were not only a physical challenge but a psychological one. I get that they didn’t have the budget, but that was huge.

    The end of the film was way too rushed. As long as it already was, it didn’t seem long, so it could have gone even longer.

  8. John

    For such a professed expert on Classical literature, I winced a little when you wrote the Hunger Games is “an epic book.” Don’t get me wrong, it’s an OK book, but it’s also written in 14-point font at a sixth grade reading level. When it comes to dystopian novels, I’ll take Nineteen Eighty-Four or Brave New World any day over Hunger Games.

    Also, while I agree with you that there were some major flaws with the movie (the lack of emphasis on “hunger,” the total underplaying of the Capitol’s oppressiveness, etc.), I can hardly agree that this film needed to be longer. The filmmakers could have easily cut out the unnecessary fluff (e.g. the ten minute scene where Katness gathers flowers for Rue’s corpse) and added the elements that truly were pertinent to the film that they missed.

    • Zack Jerome

      good take. in reality, the world collins created was a world that required an epic presentation. its about apocolypse, murder, government, civil war… all epic themes. i didn’t compare it to 1984, BNW and the like literally (or from a literary perspective), but hunger games trilogy was “an epic”. jane eyre or tess of the d’urbervilles were classics, but hardly epics. scale of book, no matter for what age, was big. this book had elements of the giver on a bigger scale, movie didn’t deliver. love your take tho.

      • John

        Understood. Yes, I agree that, in literary terms, Hunger Games could be considered an “epic.” My point was that it is not “epic,” as it is used colloquially, and as you appeared to be using it above (“Dude, that was another epic USC Rose Bowl victory”).

        In any case, excellent post as always. Can we get some football love up in this B already?

      • Zack Jerome

        very soon, probably will drop a few posts, bachelorette and then its arrogant nation thru the holidays

    • Ezz

      An epic is usually a poem though, isn’t it? The Trojan war ‘Epic’, Jason and the Agronaughts ‘Epic’, various really cool Norse myth ‘Epics’?

    • Ian

      Bearfighter – you noticed everything I did and then some. The movie is good, but not nearly as awesome as the books were.
      __________

      John – I agree with the reading level, but some books have different font. Some weird screw up with production >.<

      If you have read the entire series, you will understand why the flower scene needed to be included. It is mentioned countless times in the next two books and Rue's flowers & song are very instrumental points in Katniss's fight against the Capitol. I do think that needed to be included, but the film needed to be a lot longer. As someone who just finished reading the books {for the second time} I agree with Bearfighter that the film should have been much longer. You just don't get as much detail in the film as you do in the book – and that's the difference between the quality of the film compared to the quality of the books. That being said, i'm not attacking your opinion, simply stating what I disagree with.

  9. Ryan

    Now that the first film is on it’s way to making fucktons of money, what are the chances they devote bigger budgets to the sequels?

    • StretchMcGuffin

      Why would they? They now have a formula that made them buckets of money – why would they bother breaking the formula to add “production value”? They proved the kids (and critics apparently) don’t care.

  10. Sanders Patton

    You know, I completely agree. The first thing I told my wife when I walked out of that movie was: “You know, I liked it, but it wasn’t … what word am I looking for? Epic. It wasn’t epic like I hoped it would be.” I’m glad to know the universe agrees. And as a fan of the series who is under the belief that book one is the best and they start to slide from here on, I’m desperately hoping the powers that be realize their mistakes and kick s**t up a notch on the next go around.

    p.s. Nothing satisfies the need for an “epic fix” like an all day LOTR extended version sesh. FTFO.

  11. Samantha

    I agree completely! Let’s also not forget how the wrote out the enter character of Madge. I think she was kind of important seeing that she gave Katniss her name. Guess Hollywood didn’t think so…

  12. Brian

    I agree but you left some things out, I thought I was taking crazy pills when people started clapping at the end. I wanted to see Haymitch face plant and when that didn’t happen I knew I was in trouble, and was going to be disappointed. I Hated The Twilight esk Gale who was to goofy for me not rugged at all like I pictured. And Peeta was smaller than Katniss which didn’t make sense to me. Worst of all Was Lenny (fucking) Kravits playing Cinna He’s a terrible actor and ruined Cinna for me. Other than that you got it right on. Epic it was not it was only ok. Oh and Thresh was a medium sized black kid com on.

    • Kris

      100% agree with u!!! I really think they should have cast Jeff bridges for haymitch. Much better fit than woody harrelson. He practically played haymitch in true grit!

    • Ezz

      In the books Thresh is called ‘one of the giants’ and is described on his wiki page as 6’10”. He should really be played by a very tall guy surely.

  13. Movie had to stay under R to keep with the young adult readers the books were targeted for. Good review.

  14. Dan

    Does the Bearfighter think that the Hunger Games is really an allegory for the oppression of the NCAA (the capitol) upon the people who provide the money for their way of life ie. Trojan Football from the PAC (district) 12…. or am I just ready for football season??
    FTFO

  15. StretchMcGuffin

    You nailed it Bearfighter – summed up exactly what I felt after watching it, but in a much more eloquent way than me telling you “Prepare to be disappointed”

    Coming from a film production background I understand and expected the sacrifices needed to character, story, and rating. LG is a mid-major and doesn’t have tentpole $$, but I was so annoyed at the TV-level filmmaking on display (way too many closeups, shitty VFX that lasted for milliseconds, shaky cam for “tension”). The even cheaped out on the score. Most of the first act had no music – which done properly (see “The Wire”) can add gritty realism, but here just seemed cheap and lazy. Having read and seen both Hunger Games and Battle Royale I would highly recommend the BR book above all – now THAT was epic.

    Best Review I read on the film (after yours of course) came via Twitter:

    “@kenyatta What do they call The Hunger Games in France? Battle Royale with Cheese.”

    FTFO

  16. CP

    Amen, Bearfighter. They muted the highs and lows to cater to the lowest common denominator. The poor thing was neutered (just like the muttations). I would have loved to see it given the Game of Thrones epic miniseries treatment. Where was the sense desperation and exhaustion in the arena? The class struggle between the Town and the Seam? …

    The highlight of seeing the movie Friday at LA Live was spotting Matt Barkley, Max Wittek, and Cyrus Hobbi in line to buy tickets and giving them a hearty Fight On. If they saw the Hunger Games, I bet they’re hoping Lionsgate takes care of its “unfinished business” and redeems itself in Catching Fire.

  17. Kris

    I agree with you completely on everything except for the fact that you liked the movie. I thought it sucked insane amounts of profane phrases. Also, Peeta is shorter than katniss? Katniss is tiny in the book. If they wanted to cast Jennifer then they should have cast a larger guy for peeta. It’s like they didn’t even try to stay true to the book.

  18. Jessica

    I agree with your review 110%. I read all three books and was so excited to see the movie, especially after all of the fantastic reviews. To say it was a disappointment is an understatement. Everything felt rushed and some of the most important character-building aspects just weren’t there.

  19. Rod

    I was a HUGE Brave New World fame…Hunger Games…Meh…But I agree…Hollywood does an amazing job of feeding the mindless masses “Soma” in huge quantities…I still plan to watch it this weekend…I didn’t want to be attacked by the tween girls wearing Team this or that t-shirts…Thanks for the review🙂

  20. Mdizzle

    Solid review. But I wish you would’ve gone a little harder on the casting choices. Lawrence and Banks were two bright spots. Most of the rest was horrific. Did anyone believe the 4’8″ imp they cast as Peeta could perform incredible feats of strength? Kravitz supposedly morphed into Cinna by waking up in the morning, putting on his normal outfit, and removing his glasses. You touched on Harrelson’s portrayal of Haymitch for its lack of drunkenness–which is totally on point–but there was so much more to be said. Haymitch was supposed to be fat and burly. Not some weird, blond, dufous in 70’s garb. I also imagined president Snow to have a helluva lot more sinister physical facial characteristics. Doesn’t Katniss comment on his lips every time she sees him? Instead, they just put in a bearded Donald Sutherland and called it a day.

  21. Sarah

    You really summed up how I felt about the movie. I walked out, I was surprised I really did like it, but there was just that something missing. I wonder if people who haven’t read the stories understand the psychologically messed up aspects of the story, the part that really stuck with people and made the books so successful. In the movie, everything just felt so…inconsequential. Rue’s death was sad, but I never believed that Peeta was going to die from his wounds (and lose his leg?!). Would it really have been that much more effort for them to have the scene where Peeta shows Katniss that they can’t jump off the roof, because they want you to die on their terms? And yeah, a five minute scene could have easily covered her prep team and added a lot more meaning to the entire film.

  22. i watch movies

    Didn’t read the book, liked the movie. But my beef was with some of the logic. One being the tree scene. A pro knife thrower can’t hit.a girl in a tree. She only got like 50ft up the tree before they get to it. (at max seeing as she barely had a lead and she was injured) it.really did seem not lazy but Sooo stupid. “lets all somehow have a Mexican standoff to agree we need to kill this chick but I forgot how to use my training of knife throwing and bow marksmanship my district trains into me. when do they have time to have a truce? Cato was up the ship first and doesn’t notice the screaming couple.hop on board? I would have sliced her.head off and laughed as peeta got eaten. I was baffled when they didn’t climb a tree the moment you heard some scary howling in the woods. I was all set for it and instead they do a horror movie investigation. “hey did you hear that, let’s go see what it.is” the movie should have used peetas awesome throwing skill to hurl catos ass off or at least shot in the eye. The.arrows are not native American… You know at full.draw most arrows would go right.through deer and humans but not catos stupid.hand. if.you were going to do that the.sweet thing would be.have it stick peeta in the.shoulder.say the words yippykiya motherfugger and push the arrow through himself.to.hit. a critical part of cato. I may not be a film major but they need to up the bar badly. Not everyone is stupid. Don’t fire 8 shots from a 6 shooter. Know what I mean?

  23. Pingback: Gonzo Blogger Offers Tips to USC Journalism Students - FishbowlLA

  24. EXACTLY! And it definitely should have been R.

  25. Pingback: Gonzo Blogger Offers Tips to USC Journalism Students | widgets.za.net

  26. I love the books! But I didn’t like the film the first time around because of all the points you mentioned. I also was recovering from benign positional vertigo so at first I thought the shakey-cam probably churned my stomach more than others. Fortunately for my coworkers, I didn’t throw up. (We saw the movie for work. Seriously!)

    When I went to see it the second time with the husband, he didn’t last 5 minutes before he walked out. Jumpy editing and shakey-cam set off his migraine, actually. I stayed and actually enjoyed it more the second time around. I also sat further away from the screen so that helped with the shakey-cam.

    I wish there was more hunger. I wish everyone was skinnier. I wish Peeta doesn’t look dumbstruck all the fucking time. And I wish we get to see some FUCKING LAMB STEW!! Sheesh…

  27. Pingback: Safe and Sound | The Pinoy Babbler

  28. bengallery

    The book are brilliant the film was brilliant i think people tend to go deep in the film and point out everything that is wrong. Why cant people just enjoy a decent film for what it is yes they could have more violence but there trying to hit a wider audience. the film is fun to watch with a fantastic cast altough the katniss and gale story will do my head in it works as im always rooting for peeta. So my final word is just to enjoy and good film also try and not keep comparing the books to the film there is always going to be stuff missing.

  29. Ezz

    I haven’t actually watched the movie, but I have discussed it with my friends. The books are gruesome and use epic BAU words for reasons of killing such as sadistic (getting off from suffering, pain and death, apparently in the books Thresh was going to kill everyone that way). I seriously doubt the movie will use words like that. From sadistic to ‘he loves to kill’. According to my friends, Katniss goes to the bloodbath to get a bow and arrows (She doesn’t in the books), the mutts look like boxers (dogs) not the other tributes, and I even read somewhere that Foxface dies before Thresh, and Thresh is ‘supposedly’ killed by Mutts, rather than Cato like the books lead you to believe. Books are always been better than movies, that is always clear. I don’t think the movie will explain just how much Katniss doesn’t want anyone else to die after the feast.

  30. AivieInTheTree

    You are so right!! I just read the books, cant wait to see the movie again and thinking “What is happining??”.
    The realtionship between Peeta and Katniss is so real and logic in the books but when I watched the movie for the first time I cheered for team Gale… To bad they mislead us!
    I hope that Catching Flames show the story like the books but i doubt it…
    Thank you for the great and honest review!

  31. That was an AMAZING read!!! They left so much out…:-/ I think it should have been way gorier too.

  32. jill

    the best book ever !!😀 BUT THEY LEFT SO MUCH OUT IN DE FILM !!😀

  33. Your review echoed my thoughts exactly.

  34. MacKenzie

    Wow that was great, i haven’t seen the movie yet cause i have had friends tell me its not the same as the book, one of my friends had to explain the plot to her dad who didn’t read the book and they were whatching the movie, i am a theater, drama, movie, lover who loves acting, but when a movie can’t explain a great book then it doesn’t do well in my book at all. hope they do better on the next ones.

  35. Whow ! Lost Angeles… you sure know how to write shit…and, how to be inauthentic…The great U S of A really has got to you, buddy…Happy masturbating…

    from eustacia vie in Angola

  36. Well said. You are reading my mind. I was most disappointed by the lack chemistry and scenes of Katniss and Peta relationship, but surely awaits for the Catching Fire.

  37. P

    I actually watched the movie first, and was hell-bent on reading the books because I really wanted to know what was going to happen next and couldn’t wait for the next movie. Once I started reading Hunger Games, I immediately began seeing the key differences, and felt like the movie had not only NOT captured the true essence of the book, but I almost feel as if it was telling a complete different story. I especially feel this way about the whole Gale-Katniss-Peeta relationships. I know your review was from when the movie was first released, but since I didn’t have a particular interest in it and I have just experienced both the movie and the books, I’m glad to see I wasn’t the only one who felt this way. Your review was spot on with how I feel about the series, and then some.

  38. That was the best review i have read so far and

  39. ” Only this was a book told in the first person. We needed more scenes to mimic the insights we got in the book.”

    TOTALLY!

    i saw the movie a few weeks ago and i couldn’t stand still after reading the book. i had to bite my tongue not to say another word and ruin the movie experience for my husband (who hasn’t read the books).
    it totally lacked all the internal dialogue (or some form of it). as i was reading the book i wondered often ‘how will they have put THAT in the movie?’. i was super curious to see some of the scenes. was sooo disapointed:/
    there’s absolutely no crescendo, the relationships aren’t built up, they just sort of happen and you don’t relaly know why. it lacks intensity.
    i wonder if i would have liked the movie if i hadn’t read the book before…

  40. Bella

    This isnt a good reveiw I have read all three books and love the movie this reveiw is crappy and fucked up. Fuck You!

Leave a Reply

